top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJess Warwick

How To: Macrame / Yarn Feather

So, on quarantine I have had a lot of spare time I do not usually have. Due to this, I have been able to craft my heart out. I am finally back in my happy place amongst glue, paint, and string. As I was perusing through Pinterest I saw these cool feather looking things made out of macrame and yarn. I figured I would start making some to turn into a cool hanging wall decor. I posted some of the feathers on Insta and so many people were messaging me how to make them. So I am now dedicating an entire post to the how-to on these neat little feathers.


Supplies:

- Macrame and or Yarn

- Scissors

- A Pen or Stick


How To:

1. Cut the yarn to about the length of your hand when folded over.

2. Loop the yarn around the pen in a way where you can slip it off when complete.

3. Cut the yarn in multiple individual pieces about the length of the first yarn cut. Cut about 20 or as many as you would need to fill up 3/4 of the first cut string.

4. Tie the pieces onto the yarn attached to the pen in a knot and push the piece towards the pen. Repeat this until about 3/4 of the yarn attached to the pen is covered.

5. Unravel each piece of yarn. I found using my fingers is the easiest way to do this. I have seen some people use a comb, however, if you are using yarn I DO NOT recommend using a comb because it will pull at the yarn and make it puffy.


6. Once you have unraveled every piece cut the yarn into the shape of the feather. I cut in a tapered angle with the short pieces towards the bottom.


(The video shows 8 steps, I am unsure what steps I combine here lol)


Anyway, making this is super easy! It has been keeping my fingers busy and away from my phone. I find making this mindless and calming. I can not wait to see how they turn out on the wall decor. I will post a how-to video when I make it.


Keep on being crafty peeps, and if you have any questions at all feel free to message me on Insta, or shoot me an e-mail at jwarwick1996@gmail.com

91 views0 comments

Kommentare


bottom of page