top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJess Warwick

How To: Bead Wind Chime W/ Macrame Feather


So, today I finally finished cleaning my basement, and the crafting space I have down there. Now that I finally have my own space I can start using the Dremel I got for Christmas! I found an old broken piece of wood from an old flag amongst the clutter in the basement and decided to use it as my test piece for the new Dremel. Needless to say, I managed to give myself a splinter and drill a hole through my workspace. I did not want to waste a perfectly good piece of wood though, so I decided to keep practicing my hole drilling and create a wind chime to attach one of my macrame feathers to. This was my first time ever making a wind chime and I kind of just went with how I thought I should make it. I have listed to steps below!


What you'll need:

- String

- Beads

- Wood stick (it can even be from outside)

- Dremel

- Sand Paper

- Macrame feather

- Macrame String

- Modge Podge


How To:

Step 1: Start by drilling holes into your piece of wood equal distance apart. I drilled my holes about 2 centimeters apart and ended up with 11 holes.


Step 2: Sand down the wood piece so there are no sharp edges left around the wood. I used 80 grit sandpaper, but I think any rougher grit would work.


Step 3: Add Modge Podge to the stick. I did this to further smooth my stick and ensure there were no spots left that could cause a splinter.

Step 4: Cut your string in varying lengths in a tapered shape. My middle piece was 12in, the two pieces from the center were 10in, the next two were 8in, and so on.

Step 5: Decide what bead pattern you would like. Tie a knot at the end of each string and place one bead on each string. Now feed each string into the holes at the top of the stick so the bead is laying on top of the stick. Make sure to leave the one hole on each end of the stick open, so you can add the hanging macrame piece later.


Step 6: Continue feeding the beads onto each string on the bottom side of the stick, in the pattern you choose. I found that adding a little Modge Podge onto the bottom of the string helped me feed the beads through without the string fraying.

Step 7: Leave a few inches at the bottom of each string so you can tie a knot to keep the beads on. Leave a lot more extra space at the bottom of the middle string in order to tie the macrame feather on.


Step 8: Take your macrame feather and tie it to the center string.


Step 9: Now, take your extra piece of macrame and feed it through on each end of the stick.


ALL DONE!!


Good Luck! If you ever have any questions please feel free to reach out to me at my e-mail, Jwarwick1996@gmail or DM me on Insta jessnwarwick.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page