top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJess Warwick

How To: Decoupage Shell Trinket Dish



So, for the past week, I have been obsessed with making these little trinket dishes. I have made almost a dozen at this point, and I am hoping to sell some because I do not need this many for myself. They are so easy to make and come out looking super cool. I am far from an artist and my ability to paint pictures is very limited, which is why I love decoupage. Additionally, I was able to make these with materials I already have. As many may know I am an avid shell collector. I easily have over one hundred shells, so I adore any craft that utilizes these shells.


What you need:

- Glossy Mod Podge

- A brush for the Mod Podge

- Printed patterns on copy paper (Ideally a laser printer, but I do not have one of those so mine is from inkjet)

- Fine tip paintbrush

- Scissors


How To:

Step one: Cut out the paper pattern a size bigger than your shell.



Step two: Spread a generous amount of Mod Podge on the back of the paper pattern, making sure the entire surface area is covered. This is to soften the paper.



Step three: Spread a generous amount of Mod Podge on the inside of the shell.



Step four: Place the pattern paper on the inside of the shell. Press down in the middle of the shell first and work in an outward motion. Make sure you are gentle and do not rip the paper. Try and smooth out the paper to minimize folding. However, I have found it impossible to eliminate all creasing and folding as shells are curved.



Step 5: Trim the excess paper around the outside of the shell.


Step 6: Apply Mod Podge to the inside of the shell on top of the pattern paper. Make sure to add some more to the edges of the shell as well.


Step 7: Begin carefully tearing any extra paper off around the rim of the shell. Then gently press any remaining paper along the edge down as to give the edge a smooth look. Let the Mod Podge dry.


Step 8: Paint the edges of the shell with your metallic paint.



ALL DONE!! I love these and I have heard that they are similar to trinket dishes sold by Anthropology. Neat!


As always, let me know if you have any questions about the project at my e-mail, jwarwick1996@gmail.com, or message me directly on Insta at jessnwarwick.


Happy crafting and stay healthy!


13 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page